Religious Studies

Contact: Mrs N Green

All students study Religious Studies (RS) in Years 7 and 8. Religious Studies is a core subject at GCSE so, starting in Year 9, all students follow the AQA GCSE in Religious Studies syllabus, and sit the exams at the end of Year 11.

Key Stage 3 (Years 7 and 8)

Throughout Key Stage 3 students study elements of the principle religions of the UK. The focus is on learning about these religions and what it means to be a member of a faith community. RS also involves considering religious teachings and attitudes and evaluating the importance of these teachings with regard to spiritual, social, philosophical and moral issues. RS requires the skills of analysis, evaluation, empathy, reflection and understanding. Students are encouraged to use a range of sources and texts to produce balanced, carefully researched arguments reflecting their understanding of religion and society. The KS3 course is designed to promote tolerance and respect for all backgrounds and to be accessible to all students regardless of their background or beliefs.

Year 7

In Year 7, RS looks at the foundations of the six world main religions; Christianity, Islam, Buddhism, Hinduism, Sikhism and Judaism. Students study the background to these religions, key features, inspirational leaders, festivals and stories. This provides an excellent foundation for Year 8, where these beliefs are applied to moral issues. Learning the basic beliefs of Christianity and Islam will begin to prepare students for Religious Studies GCSE.

Year 8

In Year 8 pupils look at moral issues and key questions in life. Students begin by analysing how religion can be a force for good/bad looking at key questions including women’s rights and racism. Students will study different views about how the world was created, looking at scientific views on the origins of the world, the Christian creation story and creation stories from around the world. Other topics studied include wealth and poverty, animal rights and ideas of good versus evil. This will help students prepare for the ethical and philosophical aspects to the GCSE Religious Students curriculum.

Key Stage 4 (Years 9, 10 and 11)

Students start the new AQA GCSE course for Religious Studies in Year 9. The GCSE will be assessed through two exam papers:

Component one - The study of religions: beliefs, teachings and practices.
Component two - Thematic Studies.

Both papers are sat at the end of Year 11.

Religion and Life: 9-11 Syllabus Content

Component 1 – The study of religions; beliefs, teachings and practices Component 2 – Thematic Studies

What's assessed:

Beliefs, teachings and practices of two religions choosing from:

•  Buddhism

•  Christianity

• Catholic Christianity

•  Hinduism

• Islam

•  Judaism

• Sikhism.

How it's assessed:

Written exam: 1 hour 45 minutes

96 marks (plus 5 marks for spelling,

punctuation and grammar (SPaG))

50% of GCSE

What's assessed:

Either four religious, philosophical and ethical studies themes or two religious, philosophical and ethical studies themes and two textual studies themes.

Religious, philosophical and ethical studies themes:

Theme A: Relationships and families.

Theme B: Religion and life.

Theme C: The existence of God and revelation.

Theme D: Religion, peace and conflict.

Theme E: Religion, crime and punishment.

Theme F: Religion, human rights and social justice.

Textual studies themes:

Theme G: St Mark's Gospel – the life of Jesus.

Theme H: St Mark's Gospel as a source of religious, moral and spiritual truths.








In This Section